top of page

Buzzfeed Chickpea Cookie Dough

HERE is my review on the buzzed recipe on their chickpea cookie dough. Now Buzzfeed Tasty and their food channels are all the rage. But has anyone actually tried a lot of these recipes? Lets try them out!

HERE IT IS!

So I did the chocolate chip cookie dough recipe and instead of using chocolate chips I used mini rolo chips. Now here are my thoughts on it... I did NOT like it... It tasted like a peanut butter hummus. I did the recipe completely accurately. The same way they did it in the video and on their website (go check it out) but it was not my cup of tea. I am not a huge fan of raw cookie dough but I've tried some good ones but these were just terrible! It was super watery, and not the constituency the pictures on the buzzfeed show. It wasn't so much the texture that bothered me but the chickpea reminded me of hummus, and it has that bean flavour. No matter how much peanut butter or chocolate you put in it, it will still taste like chickpea. This recipe was also VERY labour intensive, it calls for you to peel each shell off the chickpea. That itself took me almost an hour to complete... NOT WORTH IT.

Here is what it looked like mid way of making it...

I definitely think if you are determined to try this recipe replace some of their ingredients to make it taste better. I say add half peanut butter and half almond butter, as well as whole milk instead of chickpea water. Maybe add some coconut oil and agave instead of honey. As well as oat or quinoa flour to help bring a doughy consistency.

NOW this review was not to bash buzzfeed tasty at all! I am a HUGE fan of all their videos and blog posts, this is just my review on their recipe. I would love to try a lot more of their recipes because it looks delicious!

Give this recipe a try and let me know what you think! :)

Buzzfeed Chick Pea Cookie Dough recipe: https://www.buzzfeed.com/tarabotwinick/this-edible-cookie-dough-is-actually-kinda-healthy-for-you?utm_term=.wsMRrLLZY#.uxe6LnnWD

bottom of page