top of page

Cravin Clam Chowder

Hello Everyone! First of all, WHERE HAVE I BEEN?! I've had a flu, fever and stomach virus all at once this past week. I have never felt so much pain in my LIFE. I am slowly getting better and I am able to stand and walk again as well. (Due to severe stomach pains I had to be curled in a ball 24/7 also being extremely sore from the gym did not help) ANYWHO... Lets get right into this recipe.

Creamy and hearty soup of the fresh sea... CLAM CHOWDA. I personally LOVE clam chowder but it can be super heavy. My version is lighter, delicious, creamy and not overly "fishy" tasting which a lot of seafood can have. This hearty soup will warm your bellies for the cold winter.

What you'll need:

- 8 ounce (1 small pack) of frozen or fresh clam meat. Cut into thirds.

- 1L half and half cream

- 1L mussel stock ( I made mussel stock instead of clam because mussels are less fishy than clams)

- 1 cup small diced potatoes

- 1/2 cup of small diced celery

- 1/2 cup of small diced carrots

-1 cup small diced onions

- 1 cup unsalted butter

- 1 cup of flour

- 3 tbsp minced garlic

- salt & pepper to taste

- croutons for garnish (I made mine with brioche bread)

- thinly sliced green onions for garnish

STEPS:

1. Soak small diced potatoes in cold water for 3 hours prior (or even overnight) to get any extra starch out of the potatoes. This way it will still be tender and crispy at the same time without making the soup "mushy".

2. Sate onions, celery, carrots, potatoes and garlic until the edges are lightly golden brown in a pan. Transfer to a bowl.

3. In the same pan we are making a blonde roux. This will be our thicker for our soup. Melt butter, then whisk flour on medium heat until its lightly golden brown and thick. Set aside.

4. In a pot add half and half cream, mussel stock, and sate'd vegetables until al' dente. Add in your blonde roux and keep stirring until its well mixed and the soup as thickened.

5. Finally add clam meat (should be the last step so the clam meat isn't too chewy)

Salt and Pepper to taste, serve with croutons and green onions

Try this recipe and let me know how it taste!! Most clam chowder recipes do not even use stock and just cream. I find it taste more like a cream soup rather than a clam chowder soup. The mussel and clams are both from the same family which makes the mussel stock to compliment the clams very well. For an extra kick, you can add white wine after the veggies have been sate'd.

FOR CLASS PLEASE EMAIL ME FOR INQUIRIES INSTEAD OF BOOKING ONLINE.

xoxo,

Haley


bottom of page