top of page

Cold Fighting Thai Green Curry

Who saids you can't eat a delicious, gourmet, chef- made meal while your sick? Just because your sinus is down, doesn't mean your taste buds are!

P.S (With all my recipes I DO try to make it as traditional as I can, but of course all these recipes are my own version of how I make things so please do not hesitate to add more spice or extra ingredients to make it your own! Most of the time I do make these recipes on the spot using what I have, so use all the ingredients you have to make the most of it!)

OKAY so with winter HERE and as cold as ever, I got sick, my fiancé got sick and we overall felt YUCKY. I don't know about you but depending on how sick I feel sometimes I don't feel like eating anything. Sometimes I want a broth thats easy to go down the throat or even something to help my sinus and get everything OUT.

This light, creamy, spicy green Thai curry will accomplish all the above and more! I made it light, hearty, and filled with lots of ginger, lemon and chicken. THOSE are the key ingredients to fight inflammation, bacteria, viruses, sore throat, and fevers. Even if you are not sick, this is a perfect nutritious soup to have to cure all your Thai cravings.

I made enough to feed about 6 people!! Its extremely delicious, I can honestly say I crave this breakfast, lunch and dinner. IF its only to serve two people feel free to freeze in containers, it'll last you up to 6 months! I prefer making in bulk that way when I am sick I can microwave this bad boy and relax in bed...

Ingredients:

- 3 tbsp green curry paste

- 3 tbsp ginger paste (minced works fine)

- 1 L chicken stock

- 500 ml 1% milk

- 2 tbsp avocado oil

- 1 can baby corn

- 1 zucchini (med sliced or diced)

- 1 carrot ( med sliced)

- 1 red pepper (med diced)

- 1 yellow pepper (med diced)

- 4 chicken breast (large diced)

- 1 tbsp hoisin sauce

- 1 tsp soy sauce

- 3 tbsp coconut sugar (regular sugar works)

- 1 tbsp garlic powder

- half a fresh squeezed lemon

Pepper to taste NO SALT

NOTE: The more paste you add the more saltier, and spicier it will be! So add a tbsp at a time and taste to your preference.

! STEPS !

1. Sear all your veggies (besides your canned baby corn) with 1 tbsp of avocado oil on high. You DON'T want to cook them until they are fully cooked, they should still be raw on the inside but have dark brown crust/edges on the outside. Then put aside. - Searing will caramelize the natural sugars of the veggies to bring a natural sweetness and flavour to the dish.

2. Sear the chicken with the other 1 tbsp of avocado oil! ( Same doneness as the veggies) on high heat.

3. Add the green curry paste to the pot with the chicken, make sure the paste is dissolved and you can smell the aroma. Then add the cooked veggies and the canned corn, sate for 2 minutes on med high.

4. Add water and milk, bring pot to a simmer. Once it is at a simmer, lower heat to med low.

5. Add ginger, hoisin sauce, soy sauce, sugar, lemon juice and garlic powder. Add pepper to taste. Simmer until the chicken is fully cooked. It took me about another 10 minutes after step 4 and my chicken was cooked perfectly and tenderly!

VIOLA! You have extraordinary, flu fighting, flavourful Green Curry!! I served mine over brown rice! You can always just serve it as a soup, but its so much better with rice.

For a thicker curry feel free to add potatoes and coconut milk instead of regular milk.

Let me know how HOT you like your curry and if you gave this recipe a try!!

Sorry for not posting in awhile!! I will try to post more and come up with more recipes for you all. SUBSCRIBE FOR EMAILS! So you get notified for certain giveaways and SPECIAL REQUESTED RECIPES!!

For business inquiries and request for certain recipes email me at haleyshomekitchen@outlook.com

MUCH LOVE,

Haley K


bottom of page