top of page

Dinner for CHAMPIONS!


Here is my Cast Iron Seared Filet Mignon sou-vide in sage, rosemary and thyme brown butter with a side of roasted garlic potatoes, grilled yellow zucchini and sesame soy wasabi vinaigrette green salad. Wow.. what a mouthful...

LETS TALK MEAT:

Filet mignon is THE most expensive cut of AAA grade meat you can get from a cow. Besides kobi beef and those "luxurious" meats in Japan. So what makes filet mignon so expensive? It is the very end cut of the tenderloin in the upper spine portion of the cow, therefore making the filet mignon a cut that can only be produced in very small amounts in each cow. So far COOP has been my go to grocery store for the freshest meat, obviously you can go to a butcher store for better quality meat. I bought two thick cut filet mignon from COOP for $13.00!! What a freaking steal!

HOW TO SAVE MONEY ON MEAT? Here it is, you have two options.. Grocery store and butcher store. Guess what? You can save money at both, depending on the meat market its hard to say which one has the better pricing, it all depends on which stores. Here is the cons buying at the grocery store; typically they try to reduce the price on foods. There's coupons you can save and some form of points card so you earn points each time you buy there. They also discount their meats way down when its close to their "expiration" date. At the butcher store you can always befriend the owner or sales men and ask for better pricing, and pick the exact amount you want so you are not obligated to buy a pack of steaks and just get the portion needed. I prefer the grocery store, because they do sell meat in bulk and I like that because you can ALWAYS freeze or vacuum pack meat so it stays fresh and you saved money.

DINNER:

I prepared this steak on a hot cast iron pan- make sure its smoking a bit before you add the steak to know it is ready to go. Season the steak with freshly ground pepper and salt.

On high heat you want to form a crust and get a good sear on both sides and the edges. You will know the crust is formed when the edges are golden brown and partially cooking its way to the inside of the steak. Or until it looks like this...

From then on you want to add 3 tbsp of butter, and fresh herbs like sage, thyme and rosemary. Once the butter turns to a LIGHT golden brown, we are going to start tilting the pan (make sure you use a cloth or oven mitt to hold the cast iron handle because it will be very HOT) and using a spoon we are pouring the delicious herb butter liquid onto the meat. This will flavour it and cook the top.

Cook to desired doneness, I prefer rare so I left it on med heat for an extra 5 minutes. If you prefer anything cooked more than rare, put it in a 300 F oven for 5-10 minutes (depending on how you like your steak)

I garnished my steak with a parsley and coriander gremolata that I made with garlic, green onion, salt, pepper, lemon and olive oil. It adds a beautiful acidity and tang to the creamy rich steak and helps cut the fat in each bite. Balancing your taste buds to the perfect steak meal. This will all melt in your mouth and you can eat like this any day of the week! Not only is it affordable, but the gremolata and greens help keep your diet on track.

VEGGIES:

I grilled some leftover yellow zucchini that I sliced. Seasoned with salt, pepper, olive oil and red pepper flakes. For the potatoes I took rainbow fingerling potatoes (any potato will work) cut into small wedges, and marinated in olive oil, salt, pepper and Mrs.Dash garlic seasoning! (It is my favourite seasoning for potatoes, and I get the salt free one) then I baked it in a 395 F oven for 15-20 minutes or until the skin got crispy. AND for the salad I took red lettuce and teared it up, halved red cherry tomatoes and spring mix. For the vinaigrette I added to those greens; I took wasabi I had left over, soy sauce, ginger, honey, apple cider vinegar, and salt + pepper. The wasabi did not make it spicy at all! It added a really nice kick and complimented the steak very well.

Try this recipe out and let me know what you think!! For exact measurements and the FULL recipe with steps join my 1 on 1 class and book your appointment! You can learn how to make this meal and eat it too!! You will leave happily full and super satisfied! Perfect to make for your loved one on Valentines Day <3

I hope you love it! :)


bottom of page