top of page

Chicken & Gravy Meal Prep


Are you too busy to cook decent meals for lunch or dinner over the week? No time, or $$$ to spend on groceries or to buy lunch at work everyday? HERE is the recipe for you, it is simple and affordable!! Now I am all for homemade but sometimes we will cheat and use store bought seasoning mixes and canned sauces but there is nothing wrong with that!! They sell them for a reason, it makes YOUR life 10x easier.

I buy packs of chicken legs (thigh and drumsticks attached) for a huge pack of 8 they go for less than $12. Make sure you clean your chickens well after opening them from the package. I recommended taking half a lemon wedge and squeezing some of the juice onto the chicken. Then using that lemon wedge we are going to scrub it like it is a dish sponge and clean the chicken, after rinse the chicken in cold water and dry off for seasoning.

I used a store bought chipotle-bbq seasoning mix. Of course I can buy my own seasonings separately and put them together or just buy one that is already all mixed in. It just makes sense, and I save money that way. I get salt-free seasonings when I do buy them so I can control how much salt I add in. So heavily season those chicken legs with the seasoning and add a tsp of salt + pepper so each leg! Like so...

Time to sear! On medium high heat on your skillet grab some olive oil and sear each side until the skin is nice and crispy or until there is a char (skin is crispy and brown-black but not burnt). Then set aside. Pre-heat oven to 350 F.

While we wait for the oven to preheat in a casserole dish add in one can of Campbell cream of chicken and 1 cup of chicken stock (you can use water as well).

Go ahead and add the seared chicken, as well as any fresh herbs or aromatics you have in your fridge that will compliment the chicken. I had rosemary and garlic so I added those in. Bake until the inside of your chicken has reached an internal temperature of 155 F. To get an accurate temperate of your chicken make sure you place your thermometer deep enough to touch the bone. If you don't have a thermometer, cook for 20-30 minutes. It should look like this before you pop it into the oven...

After it has finished cooking take it out of the oven and remove any of the herbs, I left the garlic in to help flavour the gravy.

Feel free to portion your chickens into containers with roasted potatoes or rice and some veggies. Then mix the gravy together until it is smooth and pour as much as you want onto your chicken. There is your easy and delicious chicken and gravy meal prep!! I was able to get 8 containers of meals for my fiance's lunch for the week.

Please share pictures or results of my recipe to my email haleyshomekitchen@outlook.com so I can share it with my followers!

I appreciate all the love and support I've been receiving lately, so thank you thank you thank you!! From the bottom of my heart.


bottom of page